The point of this post -to prove that making yogurt can be quick, painless, and easy.  Did I buy a gadget?  Yes, yes, I did.  I’m, as a rule, opposed to a ton of clutter.  But, I am trying hard to distinguist between Fantasy World and Real World in my life.  In my fantasy world, I would save each bit of yogurt to make more starter.  I would slowly prepare it at the hearth each morning and leave it undisturbed until I had perfect, creamy yogurt.

Okay, REAL WORLD now.  We’re busy, life is hectic, and I’m always using my oven.  There is very little chance that it will remain undisturbed and I’m not throwing out milk or yogurt.  No way!  Yogurt was costing us a small fortune.  I knew it was important for the kiddos to get probiotics WITHOUT all the sugars that most commercial yogurts contain.  So, we bought a gadget.  The gadget is the EuroCuisine.  Three things sold me on it.  The first is that it makes yogurt in glass, not plastic.  The second is each glass jar is a single serve container.  The final selling point is that you can buy an extra set of jars.  One set for the fridge, one to be making yogurt – no down time needed.   For us it has meant we can break a few and not freak out.   The selling price was a serious perk.  It’s $29.00.  I can save that yogurt alone.   Onto the demonstration!

Warming Milk

Warming Milk

First we warm the milk ’til bubbles appear around the edges.  Then allow it to cool.  This is a multi-tasking step, meaning it doesn’t require great concentration.  But, don’t scald your milk.  It is very important you allow it to cool before adding yogurt or you’ll kill all the good little bugs.

Add a dollop of yogurt.

Add a dollop of yogurt.

I add about a tablespoon of “LAC” yogurt to each jar.  This simply means the yogurt you buy should have the LAC symbol on the back.  I have heard / read that Stoneybrook has the highest amount of probiotic cultures in it.  It also has the added benefit of being organic.  I happen to know that Stoneybrook does work beautifully as a starter.  Plus, you don’t have to spend all the $$ on expensive yogurt starter.  About a tablespoon works just fine in each jar.  I’ve not experimented with this.

Add cooled milk.

Add cooled milk.

Just what it says… add the cooled milk!  Give it a little stir and pop on the lid and push go.  I set the timer, generally, for about nine hours.  What’s that cute little catch phrase?  Set it and forget it!

 

Breakfast

Breakfast

The finished product!  Some have said, add honey, it’s a great sweetener.  I always wonder if they’ve EVER made yogurt!  I’d love to figure out how they get warm, pourable honey to not coagulate into the cold yogurt.  I’d love to use honey, but it simply does NOT work for me.  So, we use 100% fruit spread instead and assorted fruit!  With the little cups you have the added bonus of being able to make seven assorted flavors.  Yeah, cool, I know!

