Okay, so in our old house, we had tried various arrangements.  School at the table, a designated area, and so on and so forth.  Here, our minds have been made up for us.  There is simply NO room.  There is no “other” unused space.   We have one large eat-in kitchen,  one modest sized living room, one itsy bitsy computer/herb/soaping/supplies/school books area that is approximately 8′ x 4.5′, one bathroom, and one “office” that is our bedroom and has enough room for our bed, dresser, and lamp table.  Oddly, with the exception of Shortie Pie’s portacrib, I’d tell you we have PLENTY of room in this house.  90% of our time is spent in the kitchen.  This works well for a number of reasons.  I have things that simply MUST be done.  I do not have the spare 2-3 hours to spend in a designated room watching the kids do school.  Functionally, it can’t happen.  I need to be available to teach, be available to answer questions, but still be getting household things done.  So at about 10:00 in the AM, our kitchen is transformed!

Welcome to our school room.

Busy at work

Busy at work

Getting everyone started.  You can see Sweetest Pea in the background reading on the sofa.    DH is building us a table this summer and I can tell you it will be my most prized possession – not teasing.  I’m so excited.  A big, long table, with benches.  Woo Woo!!

Then even Girly Girl got into the spirit of taking pictures.  She surprised me a little on this one….   Shortie Pie has a snack, while the little ones listen.   No longer a living room, but now our preschool.  Welcome!

Caught a little off guard

Caught a little off guard

Sitting nicely is fine for listening, but when it’s time for Pooh, there are really cute pictures.  No one could stay away.  I love A.A. Milne.  Lots.  I think we’ve read this book three times in the past year, lol.

Gettin' comfy

Gettin' comfy

 After the time with Mom, sitting still, and listening, they veg in front of Caillou normally.  Today, however, PBS has on some fundraising thing, so they watched Dora instead.  It’s 11:00 right now.  I take the time, while they are little vegetables, to work with Princess.

Big kids work independently, asking questions as needed.

Big kids work independently, asking questions as needed.

Princess reads to me and we work on phonics

Princess reads to me and we work on phonics

Shortie Pie pops in from living room to say hi!

Shortie Pie pops in from living room to say hi!

Girly Girl with Legend

Girly Girl with Legend

A few behind the scenes things you don’t see today… Like exercising the puppy, letting him out for potty breaks, seven diaper changes, bathing, dressing, brushing the five little ones and 4-5 nursing sessions.  And eight loads of laundry.  Boy did I regret my enthusiasm to wash sheets today.  We don’t own a spare set of sheets for the beds.  In my opinion it does two things – it wastes space I don’t have and it allows me to NOT wash sheets right away.  This is inconvenient, but it does insure I get them washed. 😛  Didn’t do ours today, just the kids.  Two comforters too. 

Making Lunch - Oranges & Eggs

Making Lunch - Oranges & Eggs

