A while ago, a few years back, I belonged to an elite little community called MOMYS.  MOMYS stands for Moms of Many Young Siblings and while anyone could be a member, in order to post you had to have four children within seven years.  This was a rule for many reasons, but mostly in that what works for a family of 1, 2, and 3 is not at all the same as a household of six children in less than nine years.  The dynamics and the juggling is very different.

I was reading Jenn’s comment on my last post and I was thinking of how to explain my thinking on closing True Vine.

Well, on this MOMYS digest, there have been a few moderators over the years and to my knowledge (there might be a new one now) but the most recent is Tina.  Now I respect Tina for a multitude of reasons, but the one thing she had a habit of drilling into the MOMYS was this one thing – the idea of Good, Better, and Best.

It was the concept of not just saying to oneself, “Is this thing I am doing a good thing?”  But instead evaluating the decisions in our lives as, “Is this the BEST thing I’m capable of doing?” 

There are times in each WAHMama’s life that the answer to this is going to be different.  Many WAHMamas have a financial obligation to their families.  In my instance this is not the case.  As a matter of fact we vowed to keep dumping all profits from True Vine back into True Vine in an effort to improve marketing, advertising, et cetera.  In each family “best” is going to be entirely different.  Some in the Christian communities assume that their personal conviction should be a mass conviction… whether it be private schooling, homeschooling, dress wearing, quiverful….  The truth is I am so busy keeping my own family I can’t possibly be someone else’s Holy Spirit.  Being mama and wife to my own little family is certainly a full time job on its’ own merit! 🙂 

My best was not getting done.  If I were to ask myself, “Is True Vine a good thing? This ministry created out of need for families with littles that have sensitive skin or can’t find QUALITY products that use safe preservatives or safe ingredients?”  It was definitely created out of our own personal need and I know through the years of searching myself, that the need exists.  For me it was a ministry of sorts.  So, I can easily answer that this creation was a very good thing!  But when I ask myself a slightly different thing  – “Is True Vine what is BEST for my family at this moment?”  The answer is most definitely no.  I cannot serve two masters no matter how valiantly I struggle.  And because of responsibility I had taken onto myself, I was trying to serve two – and only doing a partial job at both. 

I think that while this scenario applies to myself, I look forward to others asking themselves this same question.

When the children are watching Sesame Street, is it a bad thing?  Well, no.  But is it the BEST thing they could be doing or would there be a benefit in helping Mama prepare breakfast?  Is a child playing a GameBoy inherently evil?  Well, no.  But it isn’t the BEST use of that time.  Is Mama reading on the computer a bad thing?  No, if it’s not idly passing time.  If it’s serving the family (and it certainly CAN be that.)  But if she should be preparing a meal, reading to a little one, helping an older learn a new skill, or teaching a lesson, then it is NOT the best use of her time. 

Good, Better, Best… When we learn to differentiate from what is good and not evil to what is best, we’ll have attained a true gift.  “Not bad”  isn’t really a definition of Good.  

So I hope that I inspire you today to go beyond good.  To seek what is truly the best you can do.  Seek, actively, something wonderful to do for your spouse.  This can be a backrub to aching muscles, making a favorite meal, or just sitting and really, truly listening to his day tonight.  This can be reading a favorite book to a little one or singing a silly song.  It can be simply not complaining about something that went awry.  Or being cheerful when you just don’t feel like it.  But ask yourself today not to simply settle for good, but to strive for best and to be content with that which has been given to you. 

Contentedness with what we have, a thankful heart for that which we’ve been given, and a longing to give our best to others is most certainly the best we have in us from our Creator.

