I haven’t posted in a long while!  But we resolved to shut off the internet and cable for at least Spring, and probably Summer as well.   Am I frustrating you all?  😉

It’s been incredibly busy here and I know ya’all want pictures.  Incubation didn’t go well for us.  Apparently when more experienced hatchers say, “Don’t open the lid for the three days around hatching,” they have a reason for it.  Listen carefully.  The reason is H-U-M-I-D-I-T-Y. Very important apparently.   We have five surviving chicks out of our 36 eggs.  It is vitally important to maintain the proper humidity.  We know better now.  We’ll start another round of hatching eggs soon.  In the meantime, we have pictures of the new chicks to share with you as well as pictures of our four little Pekin ducklings.  The ducklings are for Rebecca as she has wanted them forever.  Technically they are a meat breed.  And BOY!  They are messy!

And the ducklings have made friends with the chicks.

duck-meet-chick

The shell has pipped:

pipped-eggs

A little Auracana just after hatching:
hatched-chick

And a bit more fluffy:

 getting-fluffy

I can’t promise I’ll be posting terribly often…  I’m enjoying all of my spare time with the kids these days!  I’m surprised how much time just “checking my email” and whatnot managed to steal from my day….  And pleasantly inspired to have it back.

The hens are laying… Finally!  I had a stern talk to them about the responsibility of the laying hen.  And, I’m not going to lie, the possiblity of chicken soup for useless chickens.  I don’t think I made much of an impact…. But I have eggs and that’s good enough!

 

And Goat Pictures!

Praise is growing up!

Praise is growing up!

Praise

Praise

Heidi is bigger too!

Heidi is bigger too!

Remember when she was little?

Remember when she was little?

