So for Sarah’s birthday we decided she needs a new dress!  And I knew what I wanted.  Er… well, sort of.  I wanted a peasant dress.  Well, I wanted a peasant dress OR I wanted an apron dress.  And I couldn’t decide which and they were just SO adorable that I spent hours on Etsy and Hyena poking through ideas to figure out what I wanted.

And then I was a little frustrated.  Because I knew I was going to have to end up taking three patterns and piecing them all together… My idea of a good time?  Not so much.  And then I found it!  “IT” being the PERFECT dress for Baby Sarah.  And Abigail.  And I’m pretty sure Rebecca and Elizabeth, lol.

Few things inspire me to sew these days.  But this did it.  And I was able to find the pattern locally!

This is the dress that inspired it all.  It’s made by Joline of Hibiscus Baby.  She also stocks at Venus Vanguard, a very talented group of women.

Apron Dress by Hibiscus Baby

Apron Dress by Hibiscus Baby

Popular much?

Now, I’m not good with mixing and matching fabrics.  Sigh.  But, I’m hoping with help, I’ll figure something out.  I want to the dress with a blue apron and a blue mix by the face as Sarah’s eyes are shockingly blue and she looks so pretty in blue.   I’m thinking crisp little white bloomers need to be an accessory too. 🙂 Oh, and you might find it helpful to check out the tutorial I found from The Green Wife on hair clips.   See what one pattern can inspire?

The actual pattern, for those looking, is “Claire” by Sandi Henderson a.k.a. Portabello Pixie.

Portabello Pixie's "Claire"

Portabello Pixie's "Claire"

 

Can’t wait to post pictures!  I’m going fabric shopping tomorrow unless we’re all still dreadfully sick.  We’re fighting some kind of bug here and it isn’t pretty.  But we’re working on Day Six, so we have to get better some time, right?

