I admit it.  I watch the show sometimes.  I have called it Appreciation Therapy.  It’s a fact.

Now, you’re waiting for me to go into a diatribe about how he abandoned or what she could have done differently, or just on and on and I’m not going to.  I’ve seen everyone do it, I’ve done it myself, and as several at the Woodshed reminded, “It’s gossip.”  And, ya’all gossiping is a sin.  So, I’ll resist.

But let it be said that those around us, in real life, or those who put themselves in the public’s eye, can serve as a reminder for the rest of us of what happens when you take your eyes off of God.  When the clarity of Christ in your focus goes fuzzy, other images become the focus of our attention.    When we find ourselves accountable to an image, or to a set of rules, or to others, money, fame, glory, ourselves, we are no longer accountable first to God.

I know I’m guilty of it.  I suspect all of you are as well.  When we focus on what it is He wants for our lives, through His word, NOT through our perceptions, we find real truth.

I’ve heard, “God wouldn’t want us unhappy.”  Um, no, sometimes He would.  “God wouldn’t want us to live like this.”  No, again, sometimes he would.   Paul didn’t lead a fun filled life with ease and luxury.  And yet he kept his focus on God and what God had called him to do. 

I’ve heard others say too much focus on the children.  You should focus on your marriage.  You should focus on yourself.  You should focus on…  And the list goes on.  And the truth?  You should focus on God.  Everything else, with prayer and thanksgiving, will fall into line.  This does NOT mean that if you do things, life will be easy.  It ill be fun.  It will be deeply enjoyable and your husband will do everything he should, and your children will do everything they should, and your story will end happily ever after.

What it  MEANS is that when it’s all said and done, and you sit before the very throne of God, and you’re accountable for YOUR heart, you shall have been found a good and faithful servant.

 

I’m going to post this blog, which I think does a good job of taking the focus off of the individuals and any behaviours, and putting the focus on marriage as a covenant with God. 

http://eugenecho.wordpress.com/2009/06/23/if-i-was-jon-and-kates-pastor/#comment-25104

And I’d warn you against reading the comments as they get a bit bickery.   But I think we can all remember what is God’s is Gods.  Our marriage is His.  It should be treated as such.  Our children?  We are but stewards.  

And so I’m going to leave you with a bit from James.  I will be the first to stand up and say I am very much a work in progress.  I have struggled all my life with anger and frustration and when I fall short I can almost guarantee anger is in there somewhere. 

James 1:19 & 20

“My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for a man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires. ”

James 22-25

“Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves.  Do what it says.  Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.  But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it — he will be blessed in what he does.”

And the hardest part for me personally….

James 26

“If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein  on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless.”

