Weekend?  What weekend?  It FLEW by!

The boys went down south to spend Saturday, Saturday night, and Sunday in a cabin and to catch a few fish.  I think they enjoyed themselves very much….  Right up to the point where Daddy was stuck with the barbel of a catfish.  Then it got less fun.   But they DID catch a few, visited the Bass Pro shop, ate an alligator sandwich, and had a campfire while playing chess.  Sounds like a good weekend to me.

I was left with all the girlies and Tim as the rules clearly state you must be EIGHT to go on the annual Man Weekend.  Poor kid.  You’d think we were torturing him.  Close.  Very, very close… The only boy home with Mama and the five girls.

But, the girls, not to be outdone, made our own plans.

Saturday morning, we kissed the boys, helped them pack, and kicked them out.  Then we did the normal girl thing… We went garage saling.   Now, those of you who LOVE to garage sale as much as I do will adore the irony in this… We drove twenty miles to citywide sales in a neighboring town.  The sales were acceptable and I found a couple cute winter maternity tops which I desperately needed.  I also found two ADORABLE dresses that match for Christmas for Abigail and Sarah.  But it wasn’t terribly impressive.  I drive back home through the town nearest us and see a garage sale and stop and hit the JACKPOT for winter clothes for Sarah.  Now, do I wish it had been for Abigail a.k.a. Child Without Clothing?  Yes, yes, I do.  But if you think I was turning down all these cute, namebrand tops and pants for Sarah for $0.50-$0.75 each in PERFECT condition, there was just NO way!   And did I mention I’ve been looking for the traditional LeapFrog Pad?  But they aren’t available anymore?  Found one in brand new condition Saturday for $7.  Put it up for Christmas.  Not kidding… Can’t decide if it’s tacky or not, but the truth of the matter is that it IS in giftable condition and Rebecca simply won’t care.  She’ll love it!  So, Christmas shopping is officially starting as well.

After garage saling, we came home to get started on the other big project of the day… Ana’s yarn.  I was pretty impressed by how carefully she did it and the little kids were just AMAZED at watching the yarn take the dye.  Ana was knitting with it last night and Lizzie picked up her ball of yarn and said, “I can’t believe a sister of mine made this.”  LOL!

Yarn in sections, Ana dyeing

Yarn in sections, Ana dyeing

Little ones watch in amazement

Little ones watch in amazement

Learn from me... Don't let your yarn ravel!

Learn from me... Don't let your yarn ravel!

Ball 'O Yarn

Ball 'O Yarn

Oh it turned out lovely!  Ana was thrilled.  The pink is a blend of lemonade, pink lemonade, and strawberry because she didn’t want the screaming loud red of Strawberry or the too soft pink of Pink Lemonade.  The burgundy is a blend of Black Cherry with a tiny bit of Grape.  It turned out JUST as she had pictured it.

I decided against dyeing my own yarn for the longies for Baby’s coming home… Purple is just to hard to get without using professional grade dyes.  And when I saw Tia at JuliBeans had a custom slot open.  Well, I was sold. Especially considering it would have cost more to have the dyes shipped to me than for her to dye it!  I’ve seen some longies knit up in some of her colorways and I was thrilled that she had “Your Yarn, My Dye Pot” custom slots open.  How exciting!  She also had Aran weight BFL on hand, so that was even better.

The kids had a nice nap and then we made banana splits with all the works.  And for supper we decided to make personal pizzas.  Somehow they tasted better than regular pizza!

Making Pizza

Making Pizza

We topped off the evening with a couple good movies and camped out in the living room for the night.  We all had fun!

