This is a reprint from my old blog June 19, 2007.  I always find it fun to do reprints, because it’s amusing to see where I was, where I am, and the contrasts are often striking.  When I originally wrote this Timothy was 2.5 (he’s now five) & Abigail was the baby.  We have since added Sarah Elaine and Daniella to the family and it’s almost three years later…..

This struck me today, though I’ll admit it is not the first time.

Romans 1:28

Furthermore, since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind,, to do what ought not to be done.  They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed, and depravity.  They are full of murder, strife, deceit, and malice.  They are gossips, slanderers, God-haters, insolent, arrogant and boastful; they invent ways of doing evil; they disobey their paents; they are senseless, faithless, heartless, ruthless.  Although they know God’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserver death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them.

So exactly how should we view disobedience?  God puts it into the same category as God-haters?  Wow.  Hmm…

I think it’s important to realize we are to train our children in the way they should go.  It’s an easy thing to say and a difficult thing to do. However, if God has called you to this task of parenting, then it is our obligation.  Let it be said that this is very convicting for me, because I used to be far more consistent.

Somewhere along the line, about the time Rebecca (#5) and Tim (#6) were born eleven months apart, I wore out. 😉  As a result, I have three delightful children, one recovering monster, a two year old terrorist, and the baby.  In case you’re doing the math and it doesn’t make sense, we had a little girl in 2001 (#3) that has already made her way to Heaven.

It’s strange but I also read a bit of Hebrews this morning and this one verse kept jumping out at me.  Unfortunately, I’m just not entirely sure of the entire reading, but I’m certain that if I pray on it, God will let me know what He means me to get out of it.  But I do see how it can tie in with this.

Hebrews 5:14

(It is being taught that these men are slow to learn.  They are not maturing as they ought.)

“… But solid food is for the mature,, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.”

How interesting.  We can train ourselves (and our littles) to recognize good from evil simply by putting into use what God teaches us to be right and true.

How much does that speak to the importance of doing the right thing over and over and over again?  It is exhausting some days… teaching these little ones things over and over again.  To make our olders ones redo work with the right attitude as we train the heart.   To carry on *our* tasks cheerfully, quickly, completely as we are trying to instill in our children.  I know I like to grumble some days!  But would I want my children to pick up that attitude?

To be so conscious of our actions and attitudes is so hard.  Especially if you’re like me!  I’m not terribly aware… I lack peripheral vision for the things going on around me.  Generally I’m a focus person… I focus on the one thing in front of me and that is a difficult thing to unlearn.  May God help me on this one!!

This was the original blog post.

I’d like to add a verse that has lately been discussed in our home though.

James 1:13-15

When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed.  Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

Each person is tempted by different things.  I can remember reading something by CS Lewis and he was talking about temptation and how certain things have just never tempted him.  I think that’s true.  I’ve seen others who struggle wildly against things that would never tempt me and yet there are things I struggle mightily with that others never find to be a problem.   I was trying to explain this verse to the children the other day, trying to explain to them why it’s important to not “dabble” with temptation….   When one sees a sign ahead with the printing “Beware of Quicksand” one should avoid the area at all costs.  Too often when we see that sign, we have a tendency to just want to “get a little closer” and take a peek.  Just a quick peek.  Hmmm… Well maybe just a *little* closer?  Pretty soon you’re sticking your toe into the quicksand just to see how it feels.  You’ve given into temptation and the Lord tells us that following those desires can and will lead to sin.  Before you know it, you have one foot in…. And then you’re up to your neck.  And what does sin lead to?  Death.  That’s right… Practically before you can figure out how in the world you got into your quicksand up to your neck, you’re going to die in that sin.  So much for “dabbling” with temptation, eh?  Sometimes we think, “Oh, just a little can’t hurt.”  It can.

How serious is disobedience?  How serious is it to let our children dabble in disobedience?  How vitally important is it that we teach our children to submit to a greater authority?  That we instill the habit of obedience?  That we not allow the temptation to sin to take root in our own home, in our children?  Obviously they are fallible humans, as are we!  But, we must put forth great effort to recognize sin and reject it and teach our children to do the same and not be indulgent….  Indulgent.  Interesting word.  How difficult is it to not indulge your children, just a little, in selfish and sinful behaviour?

in·dulge

1.to yield to an inclination or desire; allow oneself to follow one’s will
2.  to yield to, satisfy, or gratify (desires, feelings, etc.)
3.   to yield to the wishes or whims of; be lenient or permissive with: to indulge a child.
4.   to allow (oneself) to follow one’s will
In other words, to indulge is to satisfy one’s own will rather than the will of another.
Interesting that a synonym of indulge is “spoil” and yet the antonyms are “moderate” and “abstain.”  Hmmm……..
