Drat.   I went to visit my son’s garden last night while they were at Boy Scout’s.  Oh my.  Have I mentioned I’m NOT fond of the work gardening takes?  I’m fairly certain Oregon is intent on having its’ land back.  The garden has been overrun by thistles & raspberries.  So, we have a lot of work ahead of us.

We’ve come up with a solution, and I’ve agreed to adhere to it myself….  every hour of my screen time must be exceeded by my work outside.  It sounded so good last night when I said it.  Then I woke up this morning, tired, and sore from  gardening.  Somehow I think we should sleep on “great” ideas before committing.

The kids have a slightly different deal going.  In order to get their allotted three hours per week, they must put in the minimum of an hour per day.   A garden could look pretty good if the oldest three kids poured 15 hours of work into it every week, not to mention what Mom could do.   At this point we’re trying to put a heavy layer of mowed grass over the grass to kill it.  We’ll see if it works.  I am steadfastly refusing to allow Round-Up anywhere near my food.

I’m tired this afternoon.  I’d really like a nap.  Looks like we’re gardening instead.  Wheeeee.

