Sunshine.  A mudroom.

Recently I’ve seen discussion about homes – what one person loves, what one doesn’t.  My husband would adore a reason to build a house.  What he loves best?  Trees.  And while we are planting madly, they unfortunately do not grow overnight. :/ Imagine that.

I adore my mudroom.  It’s filthy.  I have no pictures of it.  It needs painting.  The dogs stay there.  Really it’s awful from an outside perspective.  But you know what it does?  It contains DIRT!  It keeps boots!  It keeps chore coats!  Best. Space. Ever.

This is my favorite space in our house.  See that sunlight?  After four years of living in the PNW, I discovered something important about myself.  I am a sunshine girl.  I wither without sun.  We had to knock down a wall to make this work and a big shout out to the contractor  at the little taco joint who donated all the tables to me during a remodel – right time, right place.  But this space really works for us.  We spend about 90% of our daylight hours in the house in this room.

 

frontroom

