Today was supposed to be Part 2 on Dyslexia.  Forgive me, I’m easily distracted.

It is popular these days to revel in our shortcomings as homeschooling mothers.  I have plenty.  But I don’t believe we are to toss our hands in the air and say, “Well, this is the way I am.”  We aren’t to be stagnant, using our inborn personality traits to excuse a lack of intentional teaching and parenting in our roles as homeschooling mothers.  I am an extrovert… I can’t use this as a reason to flit from one activity to another, never intentionally and purposefully being at home.  And at the same time I have seen introverts use their own quirks to excuse not pouring themselves into their children.  We are not excused.  Recognizing our personality traits is good – through knowing ourselves well, we can recognize our strengths and weaknesses.

I was in Philippians this morning.  I think Paul’s prayer for the people of Philippi is such a great prayer to pray for our own children.
Philippians 1:9

And this is my prayers for you – that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth and insights so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of GOD.

Further in Chapter 1

If I am to go on living, it means fruitful labor for me.

I pray for each of us, as Christian homeschooling mothers, that we would rejoice in fruitful labor.  I am often mindful of John 15 and the the analogy between God as the gardener and true vine and us as part of the plant.  If we are to see fruit in our children, we should be mindfully tending the garden.  We must prune, fertilize, nurture our tender young plants so that they can grow strong and bear much fruit.  We must labor towards this end.

 

