Has there ever been such a popular idea as “Me Time” I wonder?  I bought into it hook, line, sinker.  I wanted “Me Time” to recharge.  I wanted “Me Time” to work on continuing my education.  I wanted “Me Time” to listen to a popular podcast.

You know, there isn’t anything inherently evil about the idea of a little alone time.  I remember the part in scriptures where Christ withdrew from the crowds of people.

When Christ learned of John’s death, the Scriptures tell us that he withdrew to a solitary place and yet the crowds followed him, wanting him to heal, to speak, to tend to their needs.
Matthew 13-21 ~ When Jesus heard what had happened, he withdrew by boat privately to a solitary place. Hearing of this, the crowds followed him on foot from the towns. When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick.  As evening approached, the disciples came to him and said, “This is a remote place, and it’s already getting late. Send the crowds away, so they can go to the villages and buy themselves some food.”
Jesus replied, “They do not need to go away. You give them something to eat.”
“We have here only five loaves of bread and two fish,” they answered.
“Bring them here to me,” he said. And he directed the people to sit down on the grass. Taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, he gave thanks and broke the loaves. Then he gave them to the disciples, and the disciples gave them to the people. They all ate and were satisfied, and the disciples picked up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces that were left over. The number of those who ate was about five thousand men, besides women and children.

And so Christ, putting himself aside and that time he had wanted to be alone, served those around him out of compassion.  He then again withdrew –

Matthew 14:22 -Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.

In this passage it is not “me time” that Christ was seeking.  It was time with the Father.  He was seeking comfort, perhaps guidance, but his time was not self-fulfilling, but time spent with the Father.  We see again, in the garden of Gethsemane, Christ seeking time alone with the Father.

If Christ is our example, what does that mean to us?  It is obvious, as mamas, that there is always a crowd of little ones and sometimes big, seeking from us guidance, a need to be spoken to, healed, nurtured.  And it is taxing, especially when we are dealing with our own concerns, our own worries, our own needs.  And yet, we see Christ, deeply sorrowed over the loss of a beloved friend and later over his own impending death, spending time praying to the Lord and pouring out compassion to others.

Is he not the perfect example of what is needed and what is to be done?

I cannot help but go back to Mary and Martha.  I am a Martha through and through.  But let’s look at that passage:
Luke 10:39-42

She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

I know how much work you pour into your children and how much work you pour into your home.  I *know* this.  As the mother of eleven children, and nine of them in twelve years, I know that when you sit, the laundry sits.  When you sit, the dishes sit.  When you sit, the children keep moving.  😀  I know these things.  I also know, from my own experiences, that unless you want to burn out, it is NEEDFUL that you sit at the feet of God and refresh yourself from the scriptures and pray.  I have been there, I have done that, and it is not a place I wish to revisit.

I also know that selfishness breeds selfishness.  When you indulge sin, it begets more sin.  Have you ever noticed that “Me Time” leaves you hungry for more? Or that you feel out of sorts or discontent when you come back, longing for the next time you can get away for some more me time?

Martha needed to stop.  She needed to sit.  She needed the Word of God.  She needed to pray.

There was time for dinner, time for dishes, time for cleaning up… Trust me, those dishes weren’t going anywhere.

I have often said the doing needs done.  And it does.  But who are we to believe that the 24 ours in a day that God gives us is insufficient for what He wants accomplished in our homes, our lives?

 

