It is an interesting world that we live in… This world that sends mothers a message that is sounds something like this:
“Mother, your little child is good and perfect just the way he is.  If you would accept his natural state of being then you will find that he will naturally lean towards good things and love what is good.”

I wish that this were true.  Mother, I will tell you something else entirely.

Your beautiful child, made in the very image of his creator, is a gift from our Heavenly Father.  He is bright, intelligent, joyful.  He is also fully human, and, as such, capable of hate, selfishness, vanity, and self indulgence.

Children are not just part of the natural world, but also born of man with a very human nature.  I delight in my children.  They give me much joy.  I find they are intrisically creative and their intelligence astounds me.  I think we do children an incredible disservice when we patronize them and treat them as something less because of their youth.  Do not indulge a child’s human nature.

“Train up a child in the way he should go,
And when he is old he will not depart from it.”

 

The world would tell you, Christian mama, that teaching and training your child is one side of a coin.  Joy in your child is an altogether different side.  No! It *is* one and the same to train a child in goodness and find joy in the delight of raising them.

gator

We were waiting to see the alligator at the library yesterday!

It is an interesting thing to be diagnosed with a disease that you well know could shorten your life span and keep you from raising your children to adulthood.

I have been officially diagnosed with Motor Neuron Disease, probably Primary Lateral Sclerosis, from the University of Iowa.  I was seen at Mayo in Rochester last week.  They are still running tests but they also concur with the diagnosis for the time being.  Approximately 9 in 10 PLS patients will eventually develop ALS – Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosi, a.k.a., Lou Gehrig’s disease.  That disease has a mortality of 100%.

And so the single thought I’ve had running through my mind for months is: How do I equip my children for life past childhood?

There’s that word again: equip.  It’s one the Lord has laid on my heart – not as a heavy burden, not something to be anxious over, but as one assigns a duty to be done, a goal to work towards earnestly and with passion.

It seems a little thing to indulge a child’s weakness until you can clearly see the bigger picture.  I am grateful for the clarity of purpose, to love, to teach, to find joy in and with these little ones for as long as I am given.

